Azadi Ka Amrit Mahotsav G20, India
Govt. of India
National Platform for Disaster Risk Reduction (NPDRR)

3rd Session of
National Platform for Disaster Risk Reduction (NPDRR) - 2023

10th - 11th March 2023, Vigyan Bhawan, New Delhi, India

NPDRR-2023 Theme: Building Local Resilience in a Changing Climate

The NPDRR is chaired by the Union Home Minister and the Minister of State in-charge of Disaster Management in the Ministry of Home Affairs and Vice-Chairman, National Disaster Management Authority is the Vice-Chairperson of the NPDRR. Special Secretary/Additional Secretary/Joint Secretary in-charge of Disaster Management Division in the Ministry of Home Affairs will be the convener of NPDRR. The other members of NPDRR are:

  • Representatives of Government of India, which includes Cabinet Ministers of Defence, Finance, External Affairs, Agriculture Cooperation and Farmers’ Welfare, Human resource Development, Health & Family Welfare, Housing and Urban Affairs, Rural Development, Environment, Forest and Climate Change, Jal Shakti, Science & Technology, Earth Sciences, Women & Child Development, Mines, Panchayati Raj and Vice Chairman, NITI Aayog;
  • Representatives of State Governments and Union Territory Administrations, which includes Minister of each State Government/ UT dealing with the subject disaster management and One member of State Disaster Management Authority of each State/UT;
  • Representatives of Local Self-Governments, which includes Mayors and Municipal Commissioners of Delhi, Mumbai, Kolkata, Chennai, Bangalore and Hyderabad; 10 Chairpersons of Urban Local bodies and 10 representatives of Panchayati Raj Institutions;
  • Representatives from Parliament, which includes 4 members from Lok Sabha and 2 from Rajya Sabha;
  • Ex-officio members viz. Union Home Secretary and Secretaries/heads of various relevant Central Institutions/Ministries;
  • Heads of institutions of National Importance;
  • Persons representing industries viz. President, Associated Chamber of Commerce and Industry, New Delhi; President, Confederation of Indian Industries, New Delhi; Director General, Federation of Indian Chamber of Commerce and Industries, New Delhi;
  • Media representatives;
  • Representatives of Civil Society Organizations;
  • International Representatives and
  • Special Invitees